
DETERRING VEHICLE THEFT

A vehicle is stolen every 24 seconds in the United States, according to National Automobile
Theft Bureau statistics. One vehicle in every 44 either is stolen or has its contents (packages
and luggage) and/or accessories (tape decks and CB radios) stolen, costing the American
public more than $6 billion.

PROTECT YOURSELF FROM VEHICLE THIEVES!

Printed by authority of the
State of Illinois

February 2000 – 4M – GA-758

The public can help in fighting vehicle theft by following these rules:

Always buy from a reputable dealer or person you know.
(Know where to find the seller.)

Make sure the seller has the valid title for the vehicle.

Check the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) shown on the title against
the VIN on the vehicle. Make sure the title matches the vehicle you are
buying.

Do not pay in cash — use a personal or certified check so you will have a
record of the transaction. Always obtain a bill of sale signed by the previous
owner in your presence, indicating the vehicle, the amount you paid, the
date, and the names of the buyer and seller.

Submit an application to the Secretary of State for a new title and registra-
tion immediately.

Keep your title in a safe place, not in your vehicle.
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Illinois’ Title System

JESSE WHITE  •  Secretary of State



Deterring vehicle theft
and fraud with secure titles

Dear Friends:

Illinois produces one of the most secure vehicle titles in the nation. The Illinois
Certificate of Title has several security features, including a watermark and a security
thread, which provide quick detection of counterfeit certificates.

Our state's computerized title system also deters vehicle theft. Before titles are
issued, computer checks are used to cross reference the files of the FBI and Illinois
State Police. My office works closely with these and other law enforcement agencies
to detect attempts at securing fraudulent vehicle titles.

As Secretary of State, I am proud of Illinois' efforts in reducing vehicle theft and
fraud through its secure titles system. I assure you my continued commitment to
providing high quality service to Illinois motorists.

Sincerely.

Jesse White
Secretary of State

JUNKING CERTIFICATE

Sec. 5/3-117.1. When junking certificates or salvage certifi-
cates must be obtained.  (a)  Except as provided in Chapter 4 of this
Code, a person who possesses a junk vehicle shall within 15 days
cause the certificate of title, salvage certificate, certificate of purchase,
or a similarly acceptable out of state document of ownership to be
surrendered to the Secretary of State along with an application for a
junking certificate,  except as provided in Section 3-117.2,  whereupon
the Secretary of State shall issue to such a person a junking certificate,
which shall authorize the holder thereof to possess, transport, or, by an
endorsement, transfer ownership in such junked vehicle, and a certifi-
cate of title shall not again be issued for such vehicle.

A licensee who possesses a junk vehicle and a Certificate of Title,
Salvage Certificate, Certificate of Purchase, or a similarly acceptable
out-of-state document of ownership for such junk vehicle, may transport
the junk vehicle to another licensee prior to applying for or obtaining a
junking certificate, by executing a uniform invoice. The licensee
transferor shall furnish a copy of the uniform invoice to the licensee
transferee at the time of transfer. In any case, the licensee transferor
shall apply for a junking certificate in conformance with Section
3-117.1 of this Chapter. The following information shall be contained
on a uniform invoice:

(1) The business name, address and dealer license number of
the person disposing of the vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl;

(2) The name and address of the person acquiring the vehicle,
junk vehicle or vehicle cowl, and if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or
out-of-state dealer license number of that dealer;

(3) The date of the disposition of the vehicle, junk vehicle or
vehicle cowl;

(4) The year, make, model, color and description of each vehicle,
junk vehicle or vehicle cowl disposed of by such person;

(5) The manufacturer's vehicle identification number, Secretary
of State identification number or Illinois Department of State Police
number, for each vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl part disposed of
by such person;

(6) The printed name and legible signature of the person or agent
disposing of the vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl; and

(7) The printed name and legible signature of the person accept-
ing delivery of the vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl.

The Secretary of State may certify a junking manifest in a form
prescribed by the Secretary of State that reflects those vehicles for
which junking certificates have been applied or issued. A junking
manifest may be issued to any person and it shall constitute evidence
of ownership for the vehicle listed upon it. A junking manifest may be
transferred only to a person licensed under Section 5-301 of this Code
as a scrap processor. A junking manifest will allow the transportation of
those vehicles to a scrap processor prior to receiving the junk certifi-
cate from the Secretary of State.

Illinois Compiled Statutes,
Ch. 625 — Motor Vehicles

Watermark

Watermark

This document is considered the death certificate of a vehicle. Once an Illinois Junking
Certificate has been issued to a vehicle, that vehicle can never again be registered or titled
in Illinois.
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SECRETARY WHITE'S COMPUTER TITLE SYSTEM
PROVES EFFECTIVE IN FIGHTING TITLE FRAUD
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Watermark

SALVAGE CERTIFICATE
Illinois Compiled Statutes,
Ch. 625 — Motor Vehicles

Sec. 5/3-117.1. When junking certificates or salvage cer-
tificates must be obtained.  (b) An application for a salvage cer-
tificate shall be submitted to the Secretary of State in any of the
following situations:

(1) When an insurance company makes a payment of damages
on a total loss claim for a vehicle, the insurance company shall be
deemed to be the owner of such vehicle and the vehicle shall be
considered to be salvage except that ownership of  a vehicle 9 model
years of age or older may, by agreement between the registered
owner and the insurance company be retained by the registered
owner of such vehicle. The insurance company shall promptly deliver
or mail within 20 days the certificate of title along with proper applica-
tion and fee to the Secretary of State, and a salvage certificate shall
be issued in the name of the insurance company. An insurer making
payment of damages on a total loss claim for the theft of a vehicle
may exchange the salvage certificate for a certificate of title if the
vehicle is recovered without damage. In such a situation, the insurer
shall fill out and sign a form prescribed by the Secretary of State
which contains an affirmation under penalty of perjury that the vehicle
was recovered without damage and the Secretary of State may, by
rule or regulation, require photographs to be submitted.

(2) When a vehicle the ownership of which has been trans-
ferred to any person through a certificate of purchase from acquisi-
tion of the vehicle at an auction, other dispositions as set forth in
Sections 4-208 and 4-209 of this Code, a lien arising under Section
18a-501 of this Code, or a public sale under the Abandoned Mobile
Home Act2 shall be deemed salvage or junk at the option of the
purchaser. The person acquiring such vehicle in such manner shall
promptly deliver or mail, within 20 days after the acquisition of the
vehicle, the certificate of purchase, the proper application and fee,
and, if the vehicle is an abandoned mobile home under the Aban-
doned Mobile Home Act, a certification from a local law enforcement
agency that the vehicle was purchased or acquired at a public sale
under the Abandoned Mobile Home Act to the Secretary of State and
a salvage certificate or junking certificate shall be issued in the name
of that person. The salvage certificate or junking certificate issued by
the Secretary of State under this Section shall be free of any lien that
existed against the vehicle prior to the time the vehicle was acquired
by the applicant under this Code.

(3) A vehicle which has been repossessed by a lienholder shall
be considered to be salvage only when the repossessed vehicle, on
the date of repossession by the lienholder, has sustained damage by
collision, fire, theft, rust, corrosion, or other means so that the cost of
repairing such damage, including labor, would be greater than 33 1/
3% of its fair market value without such damage. If the lienholder
determines that such vehicle is damaged in excess of 33 1/3%
of such fair market value, the lienholder shall, before sale, transfer or
assignment of the vehicle, make application for a salvage certificate,
and shall submit with such application the proper fee and evidence
of possession. If the facts required to be shown in subsection (f) of
Section 3-114 are satisfied, the Secretary of State shall issue a
salvage certificate in the name of the lienholder making the applica-
tion. In any case wherein the vehicle repossessed is not damaged in
excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value, the lienholder, after the
original 21 day notice to the debtor has been fulfilled, shall within 15
days make an application to the Secretary of State for a certificate of
title, submitting with such application evidence of possession. The
application shall contain an affirmation under penalty of perjury that
the vehicle on the date of such application for certificate of title is not
damaged in excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value. If the facts
required to be shown in subsection (f) of Section 3-114 are satisfied,
the Secretary of State shall issue a certificate of title as set forth in
Section 3-116 of this Code. The Secretary of State may by rule or
regulation require photographs to be submitted.

(4) A vehicle which is a part of a fleet of more than 5 commer-
cial vehicles registered in this State or any other state or registered
proportionately among several states shall be considered to be
salvage when such vehicle has sustained damage by collision, fire,
theft, rust, corrosion or similar means so that the cost of repairing
such damage, including labor, would be greater than 33 1/3% of
the fair market value of the vehicle without such damage. If the
owner of a fleet vehicle desires to sell, transfer, or assign his interest
in such vehicle to a person within this State other than an insurance
company licensed to do business within this State, and the owner
determines that such vehicle, at the time of the proposed sale,
transfer or assignment is damaged in excess of 33 1/3% of its fair
market value, the owner shall, before such sale, transfer or assign-
ment, make application for a salvage certificate. The application
shall contain with it evidence of possession of the vehicle. If the fleet
vehicle at the time of its sale, transfer, or assignment is not damaged
in excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value, the owner shall so state
in a written affirmation on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State
by rule or regulation. The Secretary of State may by rule or regula-
tion require photographs to be submitted. Upon sale, transfer or
assignment of the fleet vehicle the owner shall mail the affirmation to
the Secretary of State.

(5) A vehicle that has been submerged in water to the point that
rising water has reached over the door sill and has entered the
passenger or trunk compartment is a "flood vehicle". A flood vehicle
shall be considered to be salvage only if the vehicle has sustained
damage so that the cost of repairing the damage, including labor,
would be greater than 33 1/3% of the fair market value of the vehicle
without that damage. The salvage certificate issued under this Sec-
tion shall indicate the word "flood", and the word "flood" shall be
conspicuously entered on subsequent titles for the vehicle. A person
who possesses or acquires a flood vehicle that is not damaged in
excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value shall make application for
title in accordance with Section 3-116 of this Code, designating the
vehicle as "flood" in a manner prescribed by the Secretary of State.
The certificate of title issued shall indicate the word "flood", and the
word "flood" shall be conspicuously entered on subsequent titles for
the vehicle.

(c) Any person who without authority acquires, sells, exchanges,
gives away, transfers or destroys, or offers to acquire, sell, ex-
change, give away, transfer or destroy the certificate of title to any
vehicle which is a junk or salvage vehicle shall be guilty of a Class 3
felony.

(d) Any person who knowingly fails to surrender to the Secre-
tary of State a certificate of title, salvage certificate, certificate of
purchase or a similarly acceptable out-of-state document of owner-
ship as required under the provisions of this Section is guilty of a
Class A misdemeanor for a first offense and a Class 4 felony for a
subsequent offense; except that a person licensed under this Code
who violates paragraph (5) of subsection (b) of this Section is guilty
of a business offense and shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor
more than $5,000 for a first offense and is guilty of a Class 4 felony
for a second or subsequent violation.

(e) Any vehicle which is salvage or junk may not be driven or
operated on roads and highways within this State. A violation of this
subsection is a Class A misdemeanor. A salvage vehicle displaying
valid special plates issued under Section 3-601(b) of this Code,
which is being driven to or from an inspection conducted under
Section 3-308 of this Code, is exempt from the provisions of this
subsection. A salvage vehicle for which a short term permit has been
issued under Section 3-307 of this Code is exempt from the provi-
sions of this subsection for the duration of the permit.

Normally, this document indicates the vehicle had extensive body damage. Once an Illinois
Salvage Certificate has been issued, only a licensed rebuilder can repair the vehicle.
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Features a computer master file for retrieval of vehicle and owner information,
etc. More than 20 million vehicle records are consolidated in the new file.

Includes more than 5,000 makes of vehicles.

Has 40 different error conditions that stop the issuance of a certificate of title
(e.g., incorrect Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), make in error, or “hit” on
stolen vehicle file).

Has detected thousands of “hits” on the stolen vehicle file since Jan. 1, 1982.

Detects numerous fraudulent title transactions that previously would have
gone undetected. (Example: An owner of a vehicle obtains a duplicate title,
after reporting the original title was lost, then takes the original and duplicate
titles to two different financial institutions and borrows twice.)

Detects vehicles that previously were junked in Illinois and have been
“washed” (registered and/or titled) by other states and returned to Illinois.
Once a vehicle has been issued an Illinois Junking Certificate, it can never be
eligible for title and registration in Illinois again. This prevents a car thief from
taking a VIN from a vehicle junked in Illinois and using it on a stolen vehicle
in Illinois.

Detects Illinois titles labeled “REBUILT” (salvage vehicle) and washed by
other states. The system automatically restores the “REBUILT” when the
certificate from another state is surrendered and a new Illinois title is issued.
The “REBUILT” on the title lets the consumer know that the vehicle at one time
was salvaged.

Stops questionable title transactions before their issuance by placing a tag on
the computer master file, which prevents issuance of the certificate. (Ex-
ample: temporary restraining order that enjoins Secretary of State’s office
until civil or criminal proceedings are completed.)

Tags on the master file those Illinois titles returned by other states. By
updating the computer master file with this information, the Illinois Secretary
of State’s office can prevent the issuance of duplicate Illinois titles on vehicles
that are titled in other states.

Utilizes the latest security technology available in the production of its title
documents.
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CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

The back text is printed in black ink over
fluorescent, erasure-sensitive prismatic tints,
with a special safety block for the odometer
reading. These tints will show attempts at
chemical and mechanical alterations. The
"void" pop feature easily identifies color photo
copies of either the front or back of Illinois
title documents.

Watermark

Watermark

Rebuilt

Sequential Numbering Security Thread

The Watermark

The three-dimensional nature of a
watermark molded into the paper at
time of manufacture creates images
that aid verification of genuine Illinois
Cert i f icates of Tit le and deter
counterfeiting. The Certificate of Title
on the opposite page has two arrows
to indicate the location of the
watermark: American eagle on the
left side of the certificate only.

How to View the Watermark

1) Face an overhead light source.

2) Hold and view the document through the
light source.

HOW CERTIFICATES ARE MADE SECURE

Security Printing

When viewing a secure Illinois Certificate of Title, Salvage Certificate or Junking Certificate, 10
security features have been incorporated into the title paper. The first of many tests of
authenticity is a three-dimensional watermark of an American eagle. A microprinted, blue-
white plastic security thread is incorporated into the paper and is in the same location on all
title certificates. Colored and fluorescent fibers have also been incorporated into the paper.
Blue colored synthetic fibers about 3mm in length are visible to the unaided eye on both sides
of the sheet; however, yellow-green fluorescent fibers of the same length are only visible when
examined under ultraviolet light. The title paper is printed with fluorescent, erasure-sensitive
prismatic tints used to render evident attempts to alter either by mechanical or chemical
means, while the border itself has been printed from artwork made to produce high resolution
fine line printing, which hinders copying or reproduction. In addition, the State of Illinois seal
and a design of Lincoln's head have been embossed on each title certificate, and three large
VOIDS appear on both sides of the sheet when photocopied on a color copier.

“REBUILT” Salvage Vehicle Identifier

The notation “REBUILT”, which is printed in the legend area on the front of the title, is used to
indicate those vehicles which were converted from vehicles that have been salvaged at one
time. The printing of the letters “REBUILT” on Illinois Certificates of Title is pursuant to PA83-
306, effective Jan. 1, 1984. PA84-1304, effective Jan. 1, 1987, requires that all rebuilt vehicles
eight model years of age or newer be physically inspected and that a fee of $75 be assessed
for such inspection.

By law, an odometer certification statement is required for each completed assignment
and reassignment of title, designated on the back of every new Illinois Certificate of Title.
(See back of Certificate of Title and Salvage Certificate.)
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By law, an odometer certification statement is required for each completed assignment
and reassignment of title, designated on the back of every new Illinois Certificate of Title.
(See back of Certificate of Title and Salvage Certificate.)
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SECRETARY WHITE'S COMPUTER TITLE SYSTEM
PROVES EFFECTIVE IN FIGHTING TITLE FRAUD
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SALVAGE CERTIFICATE
Illinois Compiled Statutes,
Ch. 625 — Motor Vehicles

Sec. 5/3-117.1. When junking certificates or salvage cer-
tificates must be obtained.  (b) An application for a salvage cer-
tificate shall be submitted to the Secretary of State in any of the
following situations:

(1) When an insurance company makes a payment of damages
on a total loss claim for a vehicle, the insurance company shall be
deemed to be the owner of such vehicle and the vehicle shall be
considered to be salvage except that ownership of  a vehicle 9 model
years of age or older may, by agreement between the registered
owner and the insurance company be retained by the registered
owner of such vehicle. The insurance company shall promptly deliver
or mail within 20 days the certificate of title along with proper applica-
tion and fee to the Secretary of State, and a salvage certificate shall
be issued in the name of the insurance company. An insurer making
payment of damages on a total loss claim for the theft of a vehicle
may exchange the salvage certificate for a certificate of title if the
vehicle is recovered without damage. In such a situation, the insurer
shall fill out and sign a form prescribed by the Secretary of State
which contains an affirmation under penalty of perjury that the vehicle
was recovered without damage and the Secretary of State may, by
rule or regulation, require photographs to be submitted.

(2) When a vehicle the ownership of which has been trans-
ferred to any person through a certificate of purchase from acquisi-
tion of the vehicle at an auction, other dispositions as set forth in
Sections 4-208 and 4-209 of this Code, a lien arising under Section
18a-501 of this Code, or a public sale under the Abandoned Mobile
Home Act2 shall be deemed salvage or junk at the option of the
purchaser. The person acquiring such vehicle in such manner shall
promptly deliver or mail, within 20 days after the acquisition of the
vehicle, the certificate of purchase, the proper application and fee,
and, if the vehicle is an abandoned mobile home under the Aban-
doned Mobile Home Act, a certification from a local law enforcement
agency that the vehicle was purchased or acquired at a public sale
under the Abandoned Mobile Home Act to the Secretary of State and
a salvage certificate or junking certificate shall be issued in the name
of that person. The salvage certificate or junking certificate issued by
the Secretary of State under this Section shall be free of any lien that
existed against the vehicle prior to the time the vehicle was acquired
by the applicant under this Code.

(3) A vehicle which has been repossessed by a lienholder shall
be considered to be salvage only when the repossessed vehicle, on
the date of repossession by the lienholder, has sustained damage by
collision, fire, theft, rust, corrosion, or other means so that the cost of
repairing such damage, including labor, would be greater than 33 1/
3% of its fair market value without such damage. If the lienholder
determines that such vehicle is damaged in excess of 33 1/3%
of such fair market value, the lienholder shall, before sale, transfer or
assignment of the vehicle, make application for a salvage certificate,
and shall submit with such application the proper fee and evidence
of possession. If the facts required to be shown in subsection (f) of
Section 3-114 are satisfied, the Secretary of State shall issue a
salvage certificate in the name of the lienholder making the applica-
tion. In any case wherein the vehicle repossessed is not damaged in
excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value, the lienholder, after the
original 21 day notice to the debtor has been fulfilled, shall within 15
days make an application to the Secretary of State for a certificate of
title, submitting with such application evidence of possession. The
application shall contain an affirmation under penalty of perjury that
the vehicle on the date of such application for certificate of title is not
damaged in excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value. If the facts
required to be shown in subsection (f) of Section 3-114 are satisfied,
the Secretary of State shall issue a certificate of title as set forth in
Section 3-116 of this Code. The Secretary of State may by rule or
regulation require photographs to be submitted.

(4) A vehicle which is a part of a fleet of more than 5 commer-
cial vehicles registered in this State or any other state or registered
proportionately among several states shall be considered to be
salvage when such vehicle has sustained damage by collision, fire,
theft, rust, corrosion or similar means so that the cost of repairing
such damage, including labor, would be greater than 33 1/3% of
the fair market value of the vehicle without such damage. If the
owner of a fleet vehicle desires to sell, transfer, or assign his interest
in such vehicle to a person within this State other than an insurance
company licensed to do business within this State, and the owner
determines that such vehicle, at the time of the proposed sale,
transfer or assignment is damaged in excess of 33 1/3% of its fair
market value, the owner shall, before such sale, transfer or assign-
ment, make application for a salvage certificate. The application
shall contain with it evidence of possession of the vehicle. If the fleet
vehicle at the time of its sale, transfer, or assignment is not damaged
in excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value, the owner shall so state
in a written affirmation on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State
by rule or regulation. The Secretary of State may by rule or regula-
tion require photographs to be submitted. Upon sale, transfer or
assignment of the fleet vehicle the owner shall mail the affirmation to
the Secretary of State.

(5) A vehicle that has been submerged in water to the point that
rising water has reached over the door sill and has entered the
passenger or trunk compartment is a "flood vehicle". A flood vehicle
shall be considered to be salvage only if the vehicle has sustained
damage so that the cost of repairing the damage, including labor,
would be greater than 33 1/3% of the fair market value of the vehicle
without that damage. The salvage certificate issued under this Sec-
tion shall indicate the word "flood", and the word "flood" shall be
conspicuously entered on subsequent titles for the vehicle. A person
who possesses or acquires a flood vehicle that is not damaged in
excess of 33 1/3% of its fair market value shall make application for
title in accordance with Section 3-116 of this Code, designating the
vehicle as "flood" in a manner prescribed by the Secretary of State.
The certificate of title issued shall indicate the word "flood", and the
word "flood" shall be conspicuously entered on subsequent titles for
the vehicle.

(c) Any person who without authority acquires, sells, exchanges,
gives away, transfers or destroys, or offers to acquire, sell, ex-
change, give away, transfer or destroy the certificate of title to any
vehicle which is a junk or salvage vehicle shall be guilty of a Class 3
felony.

(d) Any person who knowingly fails to surrender to the Secre-
tary of State a certificate of title, salvage certificate, certificate of
purchase or a similarly acceptable out-of-state document of owner-
ship as required under the provisions of this Section is guilty of a
Class A misdemeanor for a first offense and a Class 4 felony for a
subsequent offense; except that a person licensed under this Code
who violates paragraph (5) of subsection (b) of this Section is guilty
of a business offense and shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor
more than $5,000 for a first offense and is guilty of a Class 4 felony
for a second or subsequent violation.

(e) Any vehicle which is salvage or junk may not be driven or
operated on roads and highways within this State. A violation of this
subsection is a Class A misdemeanor. A salvage vehicle displaying
valid special plates issued under Section 3-601(b) of this Code,
which is being driven to or from an inspection conducted under
Section 3-308 of this Code, is exempt from the provisions of this
subsection. A salvage vehicle for which a short term permit has been
issued under Section 3-307 of this Code is exempt from the provi-
sions of this subsection for the duration of the permit.

Normally, this document indicates the vehicle had extensive body damage. Once an Illinois
Salvage Certificate has been issued, only a licensed rebuilder can repair the vehicle.
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Features a computer master file for retrieval of vehicle and owner information,
etc. More than 20 million vehicle records are consolidated in the new file.

Includes more than 5,000 makes of vehicles.

Has 40 different error conditions that stop the issuance of a certificate of title
(e.g., incorrect Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), make in error, or “hit” on
stolen vehicle file).

Has detected thousands of “hits” on the stolen vehicle file since Jan. 1, 1982.

Detects numerous fraudulent title transactions that previously would have
gone undetected. (Example: An owner of a vehicle obtains a duplicate title,
after reporting the original title was lost, then takes the original and duplicate
titles to two different financial institutions and borrows twice.)

Detects vehicles that previously were junked in Illinois and have been
“washed” (registered and/or titled) by other states and returned to Illinois.
Once a vehicle has been issued an Illinois Junking Certificate, it can never be
eligible for title and registration in Illinois again. This prevents a car thief from
taking a VIN from a vehicle junked in Illinois and using it on a stolen vehicle
in Illinois.

Detects Illinois titles labeled “REBUILT” (salvage vehicle) and washed by
other states. The system automatically restores the “REBUILT” when the
certificate from another state is surrendered and a new Illinois title is issued.
The “REBUILT” on the title lets the consumer know that the vehicle at one time
was salvaged.

Stops questionable title transactions before their issuance by placing a tag on
the computer master file, which prevents issuance of the certificate. (Ex-
ample: temporary restraining order that enjoins Secretary of State’s office
until civil or criminal proceedings are completed.)

Tags on the master file those Illinois titles returned by other states. By
updating the computer master file with this information, the Illinois Secretary
of State’s office can prevent the issuance of duplicate Illinois titles on vehicles
that are titled in other states.

Utilizes the latest security technology available in the production of its title
documents.
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Deterring vehicle theft
and fraud with secure titles

Dear Friends:

Illinois produces one of the most secure vehicle titles in the nation. The Illinois
Certificate of Title has several security features, including a watermark and a security
thread, which provide quick detection of counterfeit certificates.

Our state's computerized title system also deters vehicle theft. Before titles are
issued, computer checks are used to cross reference the files of the FBI and Illinois
State Police. My office works closely with these and other law enforcement agencies
to detect attempts at securing fraudulent vehicle titles.

As Secretary of State, I am proud of Illinois' efforts in reducing vehicle theft and
fraud through its secure titles system. I assure you my continued commitment to
providing high quality service to Illinois motorists.

Sincerely.

Jesse White
Secretary of State

JUNKING CERTIFICATE

Sec. 5/3-117.1. When junking certificates or salvage certifi-
cates must be obtained.  (a)  Except as provided in Chapter 4 of this
Code, a person who possesses a junk vehicle shall within 15 days
cause the certificate of title, salvage certificate, certificate of purchase,
or a similarly acceptable out of state document of ownership to be
surrendered to the Secretary of State along with an application for a
junking certificate,  except as provided in Section 3-117.2,  whereupon
the Secretary of State shall issue to such a person a junking certificate,
which shall authorize the holder thereof to possess, transport, or, by an
endorsement, transfer ownership in such junked vehicle, and a certifi-
cate of title shall not again be issued for such vehicle.

A licensee who possesses a junk vehicle and a Certificate of Title,
Salvage Certificate, Certificate of Purchase, or a similarly acceptable
out-of-state document of ownership for such junk vehicle, may transport
the junk vehicle to another licensee prior to applying for or obtaining a
junking certificate, by executing a uniform invoice. The licensee
transferor shall furnish a copy of the uniform invoice to the licensee
transferee at the time of transfer. In any case, the licensee transferor
shall apply for a junking certificate in conformance with Section
3-117.1 of this Chapter. The following information shall be contained
on a uniform invoice:

(1) The business name, address and dealer license number of
the person disposing of the vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl;

(2) The name and address of the person acquiring the vehicle,
junk vehicle or vehicle cowl, and if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or
out-of-state dealer license number of that dealer;

(3) The date of the disposition of the vehicle, junk vehicle or
vehicle cowl;

(4) The year, make, model, color and description of each vehicle,
junk vehicle or vehicle cowl disposed of by such person;

(5) The manufacturer's vehicle identification number, Secretary
of State identification number or Illinois Department of State Police
number, for each vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl part disposed of
by such person;

(6) The printed name and legible signature of the person or agent
disposing of the vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl; and

(7) The printed name and legible signature of the person accept-
ing delivery of the vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl.

The Secretary of State may certify a junking manifest in a form
prescribed by the Secretary of State that reflects those vehicles for
which junking certificates have been applied or issued. A junking
manifest may be issued to any person and it shall constitute evidence
of ownership for the vehicle listed upon it. A junking manifest may be
transferred only to a person licensed under Section 5-301 of this Code
as a scrap processor. A junking manifest will allow the transportation of
those vehicles to a scrap processor prior to receiving the junk certifi-
cate from the Secretary of State.

Illinois Compiled Statutes,
Ch. 625 — Motor Vehicles
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This document is considered the death certificate of a vehicle. Once an Illinois Junking
Certificate has been issued to a vehicle, that vehicle can never again be registered or titled
in Illinois.
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DETERRING VEHICLE THEFT

A vehicle is stolen every 24 seconds in the United States, according to National Automobile
Theft Bureau statistics. One vehicle in every 44 either is stolen or has its contents (packages
and luggage) and/or accessories (tape decks and CB radios) stolen, costing the American
public more than $6 billion.

PROTECT YOURSELF FROM VEHICLE THIEVES!

Printed by authority of the
State of Illinois

February 2000 – 4M – GA-758

The public can help in fighting vehicle theft by following these rules:

Always buy from a reputable dealer or person you know.
(Know where to find the seller.)

Make sure the seller has the valid title for the vehicle.

Check the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) shown on the title against
the VIN on the vehicle. Make sure the title matches the vehicle you are
buying.

Do not pay in cash — use a personal or certified check so you will have a
record of the transaction. Always obtain a bill of sale signed by the previous
owner in your presence, indicating the vehicle, the amount you paid, the
date, and the names of the buyer and seller.

Submit an application to the Secretary of State for a new title and registra-
tion immediately.

Keep your title in a safe place, not in your vehicle.

VSD-224.7
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