POW/MIA Illinois Remembers License Plates Guide


Military - POW/MIA Illinois Remembers License Plate

POW/MIA Illinois Remembers License Plates honor Illinois residents who were prisoners of war or missing in action while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces.

Public Act 625 ILCS 5/3-506 allows transfer of plates to spouses of military service members. "Upon the death of a military service member who has been issued plates the surviving spouse of that service member may retain the plate so long as that spouse is a resident of Illinois and transfers the registration to his or her name within 180 days of the death of the service member".

Fees

Standard License Plates

Random-Number POW/MIA Illinois Remembers License Plates
  • Newly acquired vehicle/first-time issuance - $316 ($150 title fee + $151 registration fee + $15 POW/MIA Illinois Remembers license plates fee)
  • Currently titled vehicle/first-time issuance - $166 ($151 registration fee + $15 POW/MIA Illinois Remembers license plates fee)
  • Current plates expire within 90 days - $166 ($151 registration fee + $15 POW/MIA Illinois Remembers license plates fee + $0 replacement fee)
  • Current plates do not expire within 90 days - $15 ($15 POW/MIA Illinois Remembers license plates fee + $0 replacement fee)
  • Annual renewal - $153 ($151 registration fee + $2 POW/MIA Illinois Remembers license plates fee)

To Apply

Availability

Renewal Methods