Korean War Veteran License Plates Guide
Any Illinois resident who served in the U.S. Armed Forces between June 27, 1950, and July 27, 1954, and who has been awarded the Korean War Service Medal or Korean Service Bonus may apply.
Public Act 625 ILCS 5/3-506 allows transfer of plates to spouses of military service members. "Upon the death of a military service member who has been issued plates the surviving spouse of that service member may retain the plate so long as that spouse is a resident of Illinois and transfers the registration to his or her name within 180 days of the death of the service member".
Standard License Plates
- Newly-acquired vehicle/first-time issuance - $301 ($150 title fee + $151 registration fee)
- Currently titled vehicle/first-time issuance - $151 ($151 registration fee)
- Current plates expire within 90 days - $151 ($151 registration fee + $0 replacement fee)
- Current plates do not expire within 90 days - $0 ($0 replacement fee)
- Annual renewal - $151 ($151 registration fee)
- One must provide a photocopy of DD214 (discharge from military service) indicating applicant received a Korean War Service Medal (KSM), or a letter of verification from the Illinois Department of Veterans’ Affairs or the federal government showing applicant's service record.
- The request can only be processed in Springfield. Apply in person or mail the proper documentation to:
Secretary of State
501 S. 2nd St.
Howlett Building, Room 541
Springfield, Illinois 62756
- Korean War Veteran license plates are multi-year and may be displayed on passenger vehicles, trucks and vans weighing 8,000 pounds or less, sport utility vehicles, recreational vehicles and recreational trailers.
- Eligible for Benefit Access Program unless plates are on recreational vehicle or recreational trailer.