Congressional Medal of Honor License Plates Guide


Military - Congressional Medal of Honor License Plate

Request Form

Congressional Medal of Honor License Plates may be issued at no cost for the first set of plate to any Illinois resident who has been awarded this medal from the U. S. Armed Forces. A surviving spouse of a person awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor may obtain and/or retain these plates.

Public Act 625 ILCS 5/3-506 allows transfer of plates to spouses of military service members. "Upon the death of a military service member who has been issued plates the surviving spouse of that service member may retain the plate so long as that spouse is a resident of Illinois and transfers the registration to his or her name within 180 days of the death of the service member".

Fees

Standard License Plates

Random-Number Congressional Medal of Honor License Plates
  • Newly acquired vehicle/first-time issuance
    $150 - 1st set of plates ($150 title fee + No registration fee)
    $301 - 2nd set of plates ($150 title fee + $151 registration fee)
  • Currently titled vehicle/first-time issuance
    $0 - 1st set of plates
    $151 - 2nd set of plates ($151 registration fee)
  • Current plates expire within 90 days
    $0 - 1st set of plates ($0 replacement fee)
    $151 - 2nd set of plates ($151 registration fee + $0 replacement fee)
  • Current plates do not expire within 90 days
    $0 - 1st set of plates ($0 replacement fee)
    $0 - 2nd set of plates ($0 replacement fee)
  • Annual renewal
    $0 - 1st set of plates
    $151 - 2nd set of plates ($151 registration fee)

To Apply

Availability

Renewal Methods