Armed Forces Reserves License Plates Guide
Armed Forces Reserves License Plates may be issued to any Illinois resident who is an active or former member of the Reserves, or a surviving spouse.
Public Act 625 ILCS 5/3-506 allows transfer of plates to spouses of military service members. "Upon the death of a military service member who has been issued plates the surviving spouse of that service member may retain the plate so long as that spouse is a resident of Illinois and transfers the registration to his or her name within 180 days of the death of the service member".
*For any electric vehicle that would like a Armed Forces Reserves license plate on their vehicle there will be an additional $100 surcharge to the registration.
Standard License Plates
- Newly acquired vehicle/first-time issuance - $306 ($155 title fee + $151 registration fee)
- Currently titled vehicle/first-time issuance - $151 ($151 registration fee)
- Current plates expire within 90 days - $151 ($151 registration fee)
- Current plates do not expire within 90 days - $0
- Annual renewal - $151 ($151 registration fee)
- One must provide documentation showing current and/or former reserve status. A letter from your commanding officer, DD214 (discharge from military service) verifying reserve service record or a copy of your orders verifying reserves status is necessary.
- The request can only be processed in Springfield. Apply in person or mail the proper documentation to:
Secretary of State
501 S. 2nd St.
Howlett Building, Room 541
Springfield, Illinois 62756
- Armed Forces Reserves license plates are multi-year and may be displayed on passenger vehicles, trucks and vans weighing 8,000 pounds or less and sport utility vehicles.
- Eligible for Benefit Access Program