Dealer Training Vehicle Services

Sign Up for a Class


This class is designed to fulfill the statutory training requirements to become a licensed dealer in the State of Illinois.

The State of Illinois does not issue either a “wholesale license”, an “auction license” or a “broker license”. An Illinois dealer license will not be issued for the sole purpose of attending dealer auctions. If this is your intention, you will be unable to attend training.

The following items must be submitted to the Dealer Licensing Division. If these items are not received by the Dealer Licensing Division at least 48 hours prior to attending your scheduled training class, you will be unable to attend.

  1. If your scheduled class date is prior to June 15th- $1,000.00 check or money order for the annual dealer license fee made payable to Illinois Secretary of State which will be deposited upon receipt.
  2. If your scheduled class date is June 16th or later-$500.00 check or money order for the prorated dealer license fee made payable to Illinois Secretary of State which will be deposited upon receipt.
  3. A completed Illinois Dealer License Application.
Please mail the above items to:
IL Secretary of State
Dealer Licensing Division
501 S. 2nd St. Rm. 069
Springfield, IL 62756

If the individual registered is attending for training purposes only, a letter, on company letterhead, signed by the licensee of an existing licensed dealership stating that the employee is attending for training purposes only may be submitted at the training class or to Kathy at the address below.

If you have been convicted of a forcible felony within the last 10 years or if your right to sell vehicles has been rescinded or suspended based on police action, you will be denied a dealer license and will therefore be unable to attend training.

Vehicle Services Department
Kathy Swinford
501 S. 2nd St Rm. 312
Springfield, IL 62756
217-557-5759
217-785-4727 (fax)

To register for a class, please choose from the list below. The class runs from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. You will need to bring paper, pen and the receipt with your confirmation number.


Find a Training Class