Assistance for Victims of Violent Crimes Court of Claims
Section 18.5 of the Crime Victim Compensation Act mandates vendors that provide hospital, medical, dental or counseling services to a crime victim as a direct result of the crime to cease all debt collection activities for a related debt while a compensation claim is pending. 740 ILCS 45/18.5 If payment is denied in whole or in part by the Court of Claims, vendors may resume debt collection activities 45 days after the date of the court's order. 740 ILCS 45/18.5 (d) The Court of Claims will automatically notify vendors if there is an award order. However, for vendors to receive notice of a denial order, fill out the Request for Notification of Denial of Compensation Claim Form found at the following link: http://www.ag.state.il.us/victims/CVCompProgram_ReqforNotificationofDenialofCompClaim.pdf
Through the Illinois Crime Victim's Compensation Act, the Court of Claims administers funding to victims of violent crimes who have inadequate insurance or no source of funds to cover expenses resulting from the crime, including medical bills, counseling, lost wages and other expenses.To be eligible for assistance:
- You must report the crime within 72 hours to law enforcement or seven days for sexual violence, unless unable to do so. You must also cooperate with law enforcement.
- You cannot contribute to the injury or death of a person by engaging in wrongful conduct or provocation.
- You must complete and file an application within two years of the crime or within one year of the criminal indictment. The application is available to download, or you may receive an application and assistance completing it through the Illinois Attorney General's office or your local police department.
- Domestic violence
- Sexual assault and abuse
- Involuntary manslaughter/reckless homicide
- Sexual relations within families
- Exploitation of a child
- Reckless conduct
- Driving under the influence
- Medical expenses, hospital, doctor and nursing
- Counseling, psychiatry for the victim and family
- Loss of earnings and/or support which increases up to $1,250 per month beginning January 1, 2013.
- Funeral/burial expenses which increases up to $7,500 beginning January 1, 2013.
- Crime-scene cleanup, temporary lodging, loss of clothing for evidence
If you are a victim of a violent crime, please contact the Illinois Attorney General's office at 800-228-3368 for assistance in completing your application. You may also contact the Illinois Court of Claims Clerk's office in Springfield at 217-782-7101 or in Chicago at 312-814-5010. Help is also available through the Illinois Coalition Against Sexual Assault or the Illinois Coalition Against Domestic Violence.
- Crime Victim Compensation Application and Instructions (English, Polish, Spanish)
- Illinois Crime Victim's Compensation Act
- Crime Victim Compenstion FAQ (English, Spanish, Polish)
- Crime Victim Compenstion FAQ by Domestic Violence Victims (English, Spanish, Polish)
- Crime Victim Compenstion FAQ by Sexual Assualt Victims (English, Spanish, Polish)
- Crime Victim Compenstion FAQ by Relatives of Deceased Victims (English, Spanish, Polish)
- Illinois Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Illinois Coalition Against Sexual Assault