Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) System Illinois State Archives

Crawford County

Crawford County Courthouse Contact Information
County Clerk and Recorder
100 Douglas St.
Robinson, IL 62454
618-546-1212 or 544-2590

Circuit Clerk
Crawford County Courthouse
1 Court St.
P.O. Box 655
Robinson, IL 62454

IRAD Depository
Booth Library
600 Lincoln Ave.
Eastern Illinois University
Charleston, IL 61920


Origin of the name of the county

Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in

County Seats

History of county governing board

Documented Record Losses

Township Government

Township Names

The Board of Supervisors’ report to the Auditor of Public Accounts on June 21, 1869, included "corrections and new towns;" it resulted in the creation of four new townships (Honey Creek, Martin, Montgomery, and Southwest) and the disestablishment of three original townships (Franklin, Hardin, and Hebron).

Township Map

Crawford County Township Map

Pertinent Databases