Reinstatement of Driving Privileges/Driving Relief for Non-Illinois Residents Adminstrative Hearings
Out-of-State residents applying for reinstatement of Illinois driving privileges may submit a Non-Resident/Out-of-State Petitioner Hearing Application by regular or certified mail. For more information, please call 217-782-7065.
All Non-Resident/Out-of-State Petitioner Hearing Applications require a formal hearing and must be accompanied by a non-refundable $50 filing fee payable by check, money order, or credit card to Secretary of State. Cash is not accepted.
Section 6-208(b)4 of the Illinois Vehicle Code states that anyone with a fourth or subsequent arrest on or after January 1, 1999, in any state, resulting in a fourth or subsequent conviction for: driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs; leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury or death; reckless homicide; or any combination thereof is revoked for life in the State of Illinois. However, the offender may apply for "termination" of the Illinois revocation under the following criteria:
- Petitioner must serve 10 years under the last/most recent revocation;
- Petitioner will be required to file the Out-of-State Affidavit/Financial Responsibility Insurance Waiver and pay reinstatement fee(s) if granted termination;
- Petitioner must have a formal hearing in the State of Illinois;
- Petitioner must complete all alcohol requirements regardless of the DUI age;
- If Petitioner moves back to Illinois, the lifetime revocation is re-imposed. Petitioner is eligible to apply for a lifetime restricted driving permit. Petitioner is required to have a hearing and if granted a restricted driving permit, must install Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) and drive with interlock for life, on any vehicle that he/she operates.
NOTE: An Out of State offender cannot apply for the reinstatement of their Illinois driving privileges if their record shows that they are not yet eligible for reinstatement in Illinois or if they are under a lifetime revocation (after his fourth conviction and revocation for driving under the influence, reckless homicide, and/or leaving the scene of a personal injury or fatal collision). Nonetheless, the Secretary of State does not object to the other state, or any other state, issuing an offender restricted or full driving privileges (i.e., a driver's license), if that issuance is allowed by the law of that state, despite the fact that they have an open revocation in the State of Illinois. This is because the Illinois Secretary of State interprets the Driver's License Compact to authorize individual states to issue driving privileges to new residents whose driving privileges are revoked in another state "after the expiration of one year from the date the license was revoked", if allowed by the law of the that state. See 625 ILCS 5/6-704.
Also note that an offender's Illinois driving privileges will remain revoked and, therefore, the offender is not authorized to drive in the State of Illinois regardless of whether their obtains a driver's license from another state.